College Application Week

Download As PDF

College Application Week

When surveyed, over 90 percent of middle school aged students say they plan to go to college, yet only about two-thirds of students actually attend. We believe “if you can dream it, you can achieve it,” regardless of roadblocks you can reach your dreams by stepping up to higher education. For this dream to become a reality a student must take an important step toward college by filling out a college application prior to the admission’s deadline.

This year Utah will be piloting a college application week November 11-15 2013, in three districts and eight high schools. The goal of Utah College Application Week is to provide every high school senior at our partner schools the opportunity to complete at least one college or university application. A special focus is placed on students who would be the first in their families to attend, low-income students, or students who may not have otherwise considered applying.

The primary purpose of this effort is to help high school seniors navigate the complex college admissions process.  We know that the college application process can be daunting, even for students surrounded by family and mentors who have been through the process. Our selected school sites have agreed to set aside time and space during the school day with computer and internet access and provide personnel and volunteer support to assist their seniors filling out AT LEAST one application. During our first year pilot, schools will launch college awareness activities for all their students during this week, and total number of participants and college applications submitted will be tracked. At the conclusion of the week, participating high school seniors, volunteers and site team will be surveyed about their experience in an effort to make improvements and allow for additional schools to participate in 2014 and beyond.

2013 School Sites and Coordinator Information

 

Granite District Event Date(s) Site Coordinator Email
Kearns High November 11-15 Julie Brough jabrough@graniteschools.org
Cottonwood High November 11-15 Gareth Horwood ghorwood@graniteschools.org
Martha Camarillo martha.camarillo@utah.edu
Taylorsville High Nov. 19, 7:30-10:30am Mike Lehr m.lehr@utah.edu
Salt Lake District Event Date(s) Site Coordinator Email
East High School November 11-15 Mark Unruh mark.unruh@slcshools.org
Sydney Mitton s.mitton@utah.edu
West High School November 11-15 Christine Pittam christine.pittam@slcschools.org
Highland High School November 11-15 Paul Schulte paul.schulte@slcschools.org
Ogden School District Event Date(s) Site Coordinator Email
Ben Lomond High School November 11-14 Melanie Clifford cliffordm@ogdensd.org
Tamra Larsen larsent@ogdensd.org
Ogden High School November 11-14 Nikki Wardle wardlen@ogdensd.org
Jacque Mendenhall mendenhalj@ogdensd.org

For additional information on school specific activities and times, please email the Site Coordinator listed above. Or visit their website.

About the National Campaign

The American College Application Campaign (ACAC), an effort of the American Council on Education (ACE), is a national initiative to increase the number of first-generation and low-income students who pursue a postsecondary education. The purpose is to help high school seniors navigate the college admissions process and ensure each participating student submits at least one admissions application.

The ACAC initiative began in 2005, in a single GEAR UP North Carolina high school in Chatham County. Since that time, the program has expanded statewide in North Carolina with every district and over 470 high schools participating annually. Since 2008, the number of states implementing a College Application program has been growing. In 2012 ACAC took place in almost 1,600 schools in 24 states and the District of Columbia. Utah was asked to run a pilot program this year, and will be one of 30 states participating in 2013.

http://www.acenet.edu/about-ace/special-initiatives/Pages/ACAC.aspx

For more information contact the Utah’s College Application Weeks’ State Coordinator, Melissa Miller Kincart, Assistant Commissioner for Outreach and Access in the Utah System of Higher Education at mmkincart@ushe.edu. This program is in partnership and supported with technical assistance from the American Council on Education and fiscal support by a grant from the U.S. Department of Education (the College Access Challenge Grant).